BREAKING: 2 Men Flee After SUV Hits, Kills 3 Teens Trick-or-Treating in Santa Ana

Asteroid to Pass ‘Very Close’ to Earth Sunday

This graphic shows the path the asteroid will take as it passes Earth on September 7, 2014. The space rock will come within one-tenth the distance from Earth to the moon. (Credit: NASA/JPL)

This graphic shows the path the asteroid will take as it passes Earth on September 7, 2014. The space rock will come within one-tenth the distance from Earth to the moon. (Credit: NASA/JPL)

A newly discovered asteroid will pass “very close” to Earth on Sunday, NASA says.

The space rock is 60 feet (20 meters) in size. It’s expected to fly over New Zealand about 2:18 p.m. EDT (11:18 a.m. PDT / 18:18 UTC.)

It won’t hit Earth or any of the thousands of satellites orbiting the planet, NASA says. It will give astronomers and scientists a chance to study it.

The asteroid won’t be visible the naked eye, but amateur astronomers should be able to see it with telescopes.

The asteroid, called 2014 RC, was discovered August 31 by the Catalina Sky Survey near Tucson, Arizona.