Flight from LAX to Nashville diverted after passenger attempts to breach cockpit

News

A flight from Los Angeles to Nashville was diverted to Albuquerque Friday afternoon after a passenger tried to break into the cockpit, according to KTLA sister station WKRN in Nashville.

The “unruly” man made the unsuccessful attempt on the locked cockpit aboard Delta Air Lines Flight 386 but other passengers and crew managed to detain him, the airline said.

Video taken aboard the plane shows the zip-tied and shoeless man surrounded by passengers and crew members as he repeats over and over again: “Stop this plane!” He finally was picked up and hauled to the back of the plane, which was diverted to Albuquerque International Sunport.

“The plane landed safely and the passenger was removed by police and the FBI. He is in custody now,” Delta said in a statement.

The plane landed in Albuquerque around 2:20 p.m. MT (1:20 p.m. PST). It was grounded for several hours in Albuquerque and was not expected to take off until at least 8:15 p.m. MT (7:15 p.m. PST).

The flight isn’t expected to land in Nashville until 12 a.m. Saturday local time.

The FBI is looking into the incident.

Frank Fisher, spokesman for the FBI in Albuquerque, confirmed that the agency had responded to a report of a plane diverted to the city’s airport but said there had been no threat to the public. He said no other information was immediately available.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News