FIFA announced Thursday that SoFi Stadium in Inglewood will be one of the 2026 World Cup venues.

A total of 16 cities will host matches in the U.S., Canada and Mexico, marking the first time three countries are hosting the games together.

“As a world-class soccer city with numerous iconic stadiums as well as three incredible professional soccer teams — the Los Angeles area celebrates SoFi Stadium being selected to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup,” the Los Angeles World Cup Host Committee said in a written statement.

Super Bowl LVI took place at SoFi Stadium in February, bringing some 70,000 fans to the world’s most expensive stadium. Along with that came road closures, increased law enforcement and parking spots on sale for as high as $4,850.

Some changes are expected to be made at SoFi — which is home to the NFL’s L.A. Chargers and L.A. Rams — to accomodate for the World Cup, including expanding the size of the field.

In a record high, there will be 48 teams participating in 80 World Cup matches. Of those, 60 will be played in 11 U.S. locations. That leaves 10 for Mexico and 10 for Canada.

The last time the U.S. hosted the World Cup was in 1994 and Mexico in 1986. Canada has never hosted the men’s World Cup but held the women’s World Cup in 2015.

“Our experience when the Rose Bowl hosted the Finals of the 1994 FIFA World Cup™ and 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup™, as well as the world-class infrastructure, vibrant communities, and our status as one of the nation’s richest soccer cultures set the Los Angeles region apart,” the L.A. host committee said.

None of the U.S. venues include the nine stadiums used at the 1994 World Cup. The Rose Bowl in Pasadena was the only California location remaining in consideration but was ultimately dropped in the final round.

The 2026 host cities include:

  • Atlanta
  • Boston
  • Dallas
  • Guadalajara
  • Houston
  • Kansas City
  • Los Angeles/SoFi Stadium
  • Mexico City
  • Miami
  • Monterrey
  • New York/New Jersey
  • Philadelphia
  • San Francisco Bay Area
  • Seattle
  • Toronto
  • Vancouver

The games will air on FOX and Telemundo and broadcast live to host countries, as well as the whole world via FIFA+.