Cheerios Recalls 1.8M ‘Gluten-Free’ Boxes That May Contain Wheat After Reports of Illnesses

Nation/world

A photo of a bowl of Cheerios is posted on the cereal’s Facebook page.

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios labeled “gluten free” that may contain wheat.

The company said in a press release Monday that issues offloading flour at its facility in Lodi, California may have caused the contamination, and affects four days worth of the factory’s production.

To determine if their cereal is affected, customers can check the "better if used by" codes of the affected boxes listed here.
To determine if their cereal is affected, customers can check the “better if used by” codes of the affected boxes listed here.

General Mills ordered boxes still at warehouses and on store shelves to be returned and is asking customers with wheat allergies to call the company at 1-800-775-8370.

Company spokesperson Kirsite Foster said, “[T]here have been reports of illness by consumers online. Two complaints of illness have been reported directly to General Mills related to the affected products.”

The company is in the process of converting five Cheerio varieties to gluten free, and this recall affects Honey Nut Cheerios and classic Cheerios in the yellow box. To determine if their cereal is affected, customers can check the “better if used by” codes of the affected boxes.

 

Most Popular

Latest News

More News

KTLA on Instagram

Instagram

KTLA on Facebook

KTLA on Twitter