Get Ready to Set Those Clocks Back an Hour, as Daylight Saving Time Ends Sunday

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Daylight saving time is set to come to an end early Sunday, meaning it is once again time to “fall back.”

The bi-annual time change, which impacts most of the United States, takes place Nov. 6. Once the clock strikes 2 a.m. that morning, most of the country — except for Arizona, Hawaii and several U.S. territories — will turn clocks back an hour.

California has been observing the twice-yearly event since voters approved a daylight saving time initiative back in 1949.

The time changing practice is meant to reduce electricity usage by extending morning daylight hours, though one study conducted by Indiana University nearly a decade ago concluded that “there is surprisingly little evidence that DST actually saves energy.”

What’s more, evidence suggests that the loss of an hour of sleep due when clocks “spring forward” for daylight saving time can be more than just a minor nuisance: the time change is linked to an increased risk of health-related problems and  workplace accidents and car crashes.

A number of people have called for an end to daylight saving time, including one campaign that has been supported by more than 125,000 people as of Friday morning, and continues to gain steam.

“Please stop the messing with our schedules. It’s an antiquated practice that only aggravates people,” the petition read.

Below are some facts about the time changes:

    • Sunday, March 13, 2016 – Daylight Saving Time begins at 2 am. Set clocks ahead one hour.


    • Sunday, November 6, 2016 – Daylight Saving Time ends at 2 am. Set clocks back one hour.


    • It is “Daylight Saving Time” (singular), not “Daylight Savings Time” (plural).


    • Beginning in 2007, Daylight Saving Time starts in the United States on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.


    • Timeline: 1784 – The idea of daylight saving is first conceived by Benjamin Franklin.


    • 1914-1918 – Britain goes on DLS during World War I.


    • March 19, 1918 – The Standard Time Act establishes time zones and daylight saving. Daylight saving is repealed in 1919, but continues to be recognized in certain areas of the United States.


    • 1945-1966 – There is no federal law regarding Daylight Saving Time.


    • 1966 – The Uniform Time Act of 1966 establishes the system of uniform Daylight Saving Time throughout the United States. The dates are the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. States can exempt themselves from participation.


    • 1974-1975 – Congress extends DLS in order to save energy during the energy crisis.


    • 1986-2006 – Daylight Saving Time begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the last Sunday in October.


    • August 8, 2005 – President George W. Bush signs the Energy Policy Act of 2005 into law. Part of the act will extend Daylight Saving Time starting in 2007, from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.


    • 2007 – Under the new laws, all of Indiana now observes Daylight Saving Time, where only certain areas of the state did before.


    • Exceptions in the United States: In the United States, Hawaii and most of Arizona do not follow DLS.


    • The US territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and American Samoa also do not observe DLS.


    • What countries follow Daylight Saving Time? About 70 countries around the world observe DLS.


    • Many countries near the equator do not adjust their clocks for daylight saving.


    • Neither China nor Japan observe DLS.


    • Some countries refer to “Daylight Saving Time” as “Summer Time.”


Most Popular

Latest News

More News

KTLA on Instagram


KTLA on Facebook

KTLA on Twitter