Trump Administration Issues Clarification on Travel Ban, Allows Some Travelers From 7 Countries to Enter US Under Special Circumstances

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The Trump administration issued a clarification to its travel order Friday, allowing for some travelers from the seven banned countries to enter the U.S. under specific circumstances.

The Department of Homeland Security is looking to clear up some confusion about who from the seven restricted countries — Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen — can still enter the U.S. during what the agency described as a “pause.”

“This pause does not apply to Lawful Permanent Residents” — also known as green card holders — “dual citizens with passports from a country other than the seven listed, or those traveling on diplomatic, NATO or UN visas. Special Immigrant Visa holders who are nationals of these seven countries may board US-bound planes, and apply for and receive a national interest exception to the pause upon arrival,” according to the DHS release.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trademark and Copyright 2021 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News