This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
SANTA MONICA — Scarcely 12 hours after he was snubbed for an Academy Award nomination for best director, Ben Affleck took home top honors Thursday night at the Broadcast Film Critics Assn.’s Critics’ Choice Movie Awards: His Iran hostage drama “Argo” won best film, and he received the best director prize.

Upon receiving his award, Affleck joked about receiving the honor that “counts.”

affleck-picSteven Spielberg’s historical epic “Lincoln” went into the awards show with a record-breaking 13 nominations, and the film about the 16th president of the United States did win best actor for Daniel Day-Lewis, best adapted screenplay for Tony Kushner and best score for John Williams.

Jessica Chastain won best actress for her role in “Zero Dark Thirty” as a CIA operative who spends years hunting down Osama bin Laden.
It was a big night for Jennifer Lawrence. She won best comedy actress her performance as a widow in the offbeat romance “Silver Linings Playbook” and best actress in an action movie for “The Hunger Games.”
“Silver Linings” took home the most awards Thursday evening with four. Besides Lawrence’s prize, the movie won best comedy film, best comedy actor for Bradley Cooper and best ensemble.
Anne Hathaway won the award for supporting actress for her role as the tragic Fantine in “Les Miserables” and Philip Seymour Hoffman was named best supporting actor for “The Master” for his portrayal of a charismatic cult leader.
Quentin Tarantino won best original screenplay for his spaghetti western “Django Unchained,” while Michael Haneke’s “Amour” took foreign film honors.
Nine-year-old Quvenzhane Wallis, the youngest actress to ever receive a lead actress Oscar nomination, won the best young actor/actress award for “Beasts of the Southern Wild.”
The James Bond blockbuster “Skyfall” won three awards: best action film, best action actor in an action movie for Daniel Craig, and best original song.
“Searching for Sugar Man” won for best documentary and Disney’s “Wreck-It Ralph” won best animated film. Rian Johnson’s time-travel thriller “Looper” was named best sci-fi/horror film.
“Life of Pi” won for cinematography and visual effects, “Zero Dark Thirty” won for film editing and “Anna Karenina” received the awards for art direction and costume design. “Cloud Atlas” took home the award for makeup.
Writer/director/producer Judd Apatow of “This Is 40” and “Knocked Up” won the Genius Award.
The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards were presented at the Barker Hanger in Santa Monica and telecast on the CW. The Broadcast Film Critics Assn. includes than 270 television, radio and online critics.

Here’s a complete list of winners:

Picture – “Argo”
Actor – Daniel Day-Lewis
Actress – Jessica Chastain
Supporting Actor – Philip Seymour Hoffman
Supporting Actress – Anne Hathaway
Young Actor/Actress – Quvenzhane Wallis
Acting Ensemble – “Silver Linings Playbook”
Director – Ben Affleck
Original Screenplay – Quentin Tarantino
Adapted Screenplay – Tony Kushner
Cinematography – Claudio Miranda (“Life of Pi”)
Art Direction – Sarah Greenwood/Katie Spencer (“Anna Karenina”)
Editing – William Goldenberg/Dylan Tichenor (“Zero Dark Thirty”)
Costume Design – Jacqueline Durran (“Anna Karenina”)
Makeup – “Cloud Atlas”
Visual Effects – “Life of Pi”
Animated Feature – “Wreck-It Ralph”
Action Movie – “Skyfall”
Actor in an Action Movie – Daniel Craig
Actress in an Action Movie – Jennifer Lawrence
Comedy – “Silver Linings Playbook”
Actor in a Comedy – Bradley Cooper
Actress in a Comedy – Jennifer Lawrence
Sci-Fi/Horror Movie – “Looper”
Foreign Language Film – “Amour”
Documentary Feature – “Searching for Sugarman”
Song – “Skyfall”
Score – John Williams